NEWS & PRESS RELEASES

Dennis Wilhite, Ed.D.

Dennis Wilhite, Ed.D.

Professor, Camping Ministries, Youth Pastoral

Chair of Global Ministries Division

Coordinator for Ministry Development

570.585.9264

dwilhite@bbc.edu


When did you become a believer?

In 1960, in the middle of the night, the gospel just rang true. I can’t explain it other than to say that, for the first time, “the lights came on.” I had heard the gospel all my life, growing up in the Philippines on the mission field. My parents were very godly people who taught me biblical things, but it wasn’t until that night in 1960 that I made a personal decision to accept Jesus Christ as my Savior.

Where did you receive your education? Why did you choose these schools?

I did my undergraduate work here at BBC. I came here because I was going to be a missionary and felt this was the best place to prepare for that calling. However, the Lord redirected me through a variety of means. I eventually was called to a youth pastorate in Grand Rapids, Michigan. While I was there, I did some graduate work at Grand Rapids Baptist Seminary. I earned my doctorate in education at Nova Southeastern. I decided to pursue an education degree in order to better interact with educators both Christian and secular. This degree is especially valuable for my work here as a college professor.

How did God direct you to come to BBC to teach?

I like to say “kicking and screaming,” but in all seriousness, it was the logical next step from youth ministry. I was in a church that was going through some transitions when I received the invitation to come to BBC by Dr. Bixby. I thought I would come to teach for a short while, but I’ve been here for 15 years.

How is teaching here different from youth ministry in a church setting?

Teaching here is similar to my ministries in that I am working with mostly the same age group. However, the new academic environment brings a different set of challenges. In some ways, it can be more productive, but I believe it is more challenging.

What do you do in your spare time?

I like to go rowing, sculling, and canoeing. I also tromp in the woods and chop wood. Reading is another favorite hobby. I have a wide variety of reading interests ranging from history and sociology to theology. My favorite book is usually whatever I’m reading now.

Could you tell me about your family?

I have a wife, Marlene, who is an attorney here. I have four adult children. Lorie and her family live in Shrewsbury, Pennsylvania, just north of Baltimore. Ben is here near Clarks Summit with his wife and kids. He runs Pilgrimage Education Resources (something in which I am also involved). Jesse lives in California, and Joshua is a youth pastor in Plymouth, Michigan, with his family.

Posted on: 4/16/2007 10:54:36 AM

Share on Facebook