AWARDS - Outstanding Service Award

Each year, four individuals are awarded an Outstanding Service Award.

BBC&S alumni nominate individuals during the spring. The Alumni Association Council selects the award winners.

Candidates must have:

  • Received a degree from Baptist Bible College, Graduate School, or Seminary.
  • Maintained a quality association with BBC&S for at least 10 years.
  • Cultivated an evident pursuit of Christ-centered thinking and daily lifestyle that honors Him.
  • Hold an evident dedication to developing the life of Christ in others.
  • A few examples of ministry/professional areas of potential award winners are: Pastor, youth pastor, educator, missionary, deacon, women’s ministry leader, lay worker, counselor, other significant ministry.

2013 Outstanding Service Award recipients:

John Frey (73)
John grew up in Lancaster PA. He married his wife Florence (Floss) in 1957.
After losing their oldest child, Marie at the age of 5 to Aplastic Anemia, the Lord began speaking to John about full time ministry. He enrolled at Baptist Bible College in 1969 at the age of 31. He graduated in 1973 and in December 1975 he took the pastorate of Sharon Baptist Church and served there for 28 years. The Frey's retired from Sharon Baptist Church in 2003 and began an interim ministry serving at Bethel Baptist Church in Jamestown NY for one year; at High St Community Church for fice years; and are presently serving as interim at 1st Baptist Church in Transfer, PA.

The Frey's have 3 children: Andrew (Judi Gage), Matthew (Jolynn Hodil) and Grace (Ray Brandon), 12 grandchildren, and 5 great grand children.

Kristi Walker (00)

Kristi Walker is from Clarks Summit, PA and graduated from Baptist Bible College in May of 2000. She was class vice president all four years at BBC and after graduation went on to serve as the Secretary for Student Activities in OSD before becoming a missionary. Her involvement in student activities and her years working with the youth group at Heritage Baptist Church (her sending church) prepared her for her role in Berlin, Germany as Director of Student Ministries at CrossWay International Baptist Church.  Kristi has been serving in Berlin for 10 years, and yet still has a purposeful ministry with BBC students. She facilitates BBC missions teams and interns in Berlin and seeks to infect students with her passion for missions. She admits that half of her heart is in Berlin and half is still at BBC and God is allowing those two halves to come together as BBC students infiltrate Berlin, Germany with the Gospel!


Dennis Wilhite(74)

Dennis grew up in the Philippines with missionary parents.  Their life and ministry left a deep imprint on his life. He came under powerful preaching and teaching of the Word that gave him a solid foundation in the message of Scripture. Dennis came into a relationship with Jesus Christ at the age of 10. He thought he was headed back to the Philippines, when he attended Baptist Bible College for an undergrad degree, but rather he was blessed with his bride and companion of many years and with lifelong friends and comrades in ministry. He invested twenty years in a variety of pastoral ministries mostly with youth.  Dennis has always been convinced that ministry is about introducing people to the life of God through the Word. Then Dennis entered the world of higher education.  Having earned a seminary degree, he took his youth pastor passions and skills to college. During these years, Dennis has taught at the undergrad, graduate and post graduate levels, in classrooms, online, blended learning platforms, and (his favorite) wilderness experiential learning environments. He loves facilitating the learning process and bringing folks along on the pilgrimage.



Below are previous Outstanding Service Award recipients.

2012 – Rev. Doug & Cheryl Boisvert, Pastor Patrick McGoldrick, Sue Lodico, Sgt. George Peach
2011 – Fran Weddle, Dr. Robert Kelleman, Ruth Rising
2010 – Ken and Arlene Updyke, Richard Blades, Martin Eaton
2009 – Dr. Don Whipple, Sherrie Holloway, Michael and Kim Ryall
2008 – James R. Howell, Wanda Southworth Leffel, Dr. Colin Smith, Mel Walker
2007 – Dr. Steve Viars, Dr. Rodney Decker, Jane Schmitz, Darlene Knafel
2006 – Joseph Flatt, Kennard Mosher, Delores Woods, Wilbur & Nona Janowski
2005 – W. Robert Mattox, C. David Barrows, Doris Youmans, Martha Lentsch
2004 – Carl Hills, Harold Green, Elizabeth Jones, Mary Shellhammer
2003 – Glenn Seaver, RoseLee Bancroft, Carl & Wilma Abbott, Bob Marsh
2002 – Donald Shirk, Saleen McElwain, Tim & Barb Vermilyea, Donald Moffitt
2001 – Harold Comings, Ellen Glanville, Dick & Ruth Gelina, Eddy Smith
2000 – Chris Hindal, Robert Lightner, Tim & Helen Matchett, Jacquelyn Mitchell
1999 – Victor Decker, James Grier, J. Murray Murdoch, Larry & Jacqui Armstrong, Verna Hollenback
1998 – Terry Zebulske, David Boehning, Andy & Diane Large, Bethel McGrew
1997 – Richard Alhgrim, James Lytle, Polly Strong, Lena VanGilder
1996 – Barry Stewart, Cheryl Fawcett, Paul & Elaine Kintner, Gerald & Thelma Strope
1995 – Willis Hull, Christopher Davis, Fred & Rachel Whitman, Beryl Kach
1994 – James Jeffery, Earle Harriman, Linda Short,
1993 – Donald McCall, Richard Engle, Paul Weimer
1992 – James Vogel, David McClain, Donald Bond
1991 – Richard Christen, Joyce McNamee, George Chadwick, Beverly McElwain
1990 – Karl Smith, Valerie Wilson, Artus Larkin, Harry Dodd
1989 – R. Craig Golden, Clara Crumb deRosset, C. Lloyd Button
1988 – Floyd Drake, Martha Green, David Moore
1987 – R. Eldon Brock, Jesse Eaton, Carl Elgena, Donald Trott II
1986 – Marylou Brownell, Warren Birdsall, Benjamin McGrew, Charles Vermilyea
1985 – Charles Cuthbertson, Patricia Brannen, Robert Hayden, Robert Gromacki
1984 – Mary Thompson, Rev. & Mrs. M.O. Burman, David Layhew


return to the Alumni homepage |