AWARDS - Alumnus/Alumnae of the Year

Each year, one individual is awarded the Alumnus of the Year Award. BBC&S alumni nominate individuals during the spring. The Alumni Association Council selects the award winner.

Candidates must have:

  • Received a degree from Baptist Bible College, Graduate School, or Seminary.
  • Completed at least 10 years of faithful and profitable Christian service in their profession.
  • Rendered distinguished service to Baptist Bible College & Seminary, its programs, and/or its students or graduates.
  • Cultivated an evident pursuit of Christ-centered thinking and daily lifestyle that honors Him.
  • Hold an evident dedication to developing the life of Christ in others.

2014 – Glen Lavy, Esq. (86)
Glen lives in Scottsdale, AZ and serves as senior counsel and vice-president of Legal Strategies and Funding with Alliance Defending Freedom. Within a few short years, he and his team have recruited top-notch Christian lawyers from across the country. They have tripled the number of applicants who want to attend the Legal Academy and who contribute invaluable pro-bono service to advance the ministry’s mission.

When joining Alliance Defending Freedom in 2001, Lavy focused his litigation efforts on protecting the legal definition of marriage as the union of one man and one woman. From 2004 to 2007, he served as senior vice-president of the Marriage Litigation Team. Lavy wrote friend-of-the-court briefs supporting marriage and family in Lawrence v. Texas and Goodridge v. Department of Public Health, two crucial cases affecting legal precedents for sexual activity and marriage. He was a pivotal player in Lewis v. Alfaro, a landmark California Supreme Court case which stopped San Francisco from issuing same-sex “marriage” licenses and voided the ones already granted by Mayor Gavin Newsom.

After his graduation from Baptist Bible College in 1986, Glen earned his J.D. in 1990 from Harvard Law School. He is admitted to the bar of the U.S. Supreme Court, the Arizona Supreme Court, the Texas Supreme Court, the U.S. Courts of Appeals for the 7th, 8th, and 9th Circuits. He is also admitted to the U.S. District Court of Arizona, the U.S. District Court for the Northern and Southern District of Texas, the U.S. District Court for the Eastern District of Wisconsin, as well as the Federal Claims Court and the U.S. Tax Court.

Glen and Rebecca met in Milwaukee, Wisconsin. At the time, Glen taught an adult Sunday school class and began his first year of private law practice and Rebecca worked on her medical residency for Ob-Gyn. Glen and Rebecca have enjoyed 17 years of marriage and adopted three children. Rebecca has retired from her medical practice to home-school their children: Daniel (11), Emily (9), and Joseph (7).

Glen and Rebecca serve at Immanuel Bible Church in Scottsdale, Arizona. Glen teaches an adult Sunday school class and the couple leads a small-group Bible Study in their home.


Below are previous Alumnus of the Year recipients.

2013 – Cheryl Fawcett
2012 – Rev. Jim Showers
2011 – Dr. Paul Plew
2010 – Jeff Hash
2009 – Chaplain James E. May III
2008 – Dr. David Crandall
2007 – Dr. James M Grier
2006 – Donald Trott
2005 – R. Eldon Brock
2004 – Floyd Donald Drake, Sr.
2003 – Carl Elgena
2002 – Charles Ware
2001 – Robert Gromacki
2000 – R. Craig Golden
1999 – David McClain
1998 – Ken Rudolph
1997 – Jesse Eaton
1996 – David L. Moore
1995 – Charles Vermilyea
1994 – Willard Stull
1993 – Benjamin McGrew
1992 – Gordon Lewis
1991 – Wilbur Strader
1990 – Manfred Kober
1989 – Austin Plew
1988 – Robert Hayden
1987 – Helen Finch
1986 – Harold & Patricia Miller
1985 – John White, Jr.
1984 – Nina & V. Ben Kendrick
1983 – G. Heath Bobbett
1982 – Friedhelm Loescher
1981 – Mark Jackson
1980 – Kenneth Elgena
1979 – Bernard Bancroft
1978 – G. Arthur Woolsey
1977 – Mead Armstrong
1976 – Daniel Gelatt
1975 – Ruth Haycock
1974 – Wendell Kempton
1973 – Cass Santos
1972 – Jessica Minns
1970 – Douglas Christen
1969 – Albert Williams
1968 – James Jeremiah
1967 – Merle Hull


return to the Alumni homepage |